Mission Statement
The forum for inter-american research (fiar) is the official electronic journal of the International Association of Inter-American Studies (IAS). fiar was established by the American Studies Program at Bielefeld University in 2008.
We foster a dialogic and interdisciplinary approach to the study of the Americas. fiar is a peer-reviewed online journal. Articles in this journal undergo a double-blind review process and are published in English, French, Portuguese and Spanish. We do not charge readers or institutions for full text access. In addition to written work we also publish selected audiovisual material of conference presentations, keynotes, and video features.
The editorial board consists of a broad range of international scholars from diverse disciplinary backgrounds.
You can contact us via:



[49] 521-106-3493


[49] 521-106-3657
(European Standard Time)


Postfach 100131
D-33501 Bielefeld